Gauging interest for a dastardly plan...

Viewed 402 times
Started 2014-03-08T21:05:00+00:00
3 following this thread
Back to Member Chat

bpxdev
2014-03-08T21:05:00+00:00
 profile photo
I'm been thinking for a while that it might be interesting (if not ambitious) to try and tie in other parts of my non Photographic skill set to my Photography Projects and see what can be done.

I should start by explaining what else I do to provide context.

Among other various endeavours I am a Canyoning Guide/ Instructor and a White Water Rescue Operator. To put it simply, this involves taking clients into narrow and scenic river gorges to swim, climb and jump through the water features therein. Abseiling and cliff jumping are a major part. Canyoning is generally the only way to reach some of the areas that we navigate through which are always stunning. Deep crystal pools, high gorge walls and waterfalls that are otherwise inaccessible to the general wanderer.

Now for my plan.

I would like to take a model Canyoning for a shoot in one of these locations (yet to be decided, as there are a number of excellent choices). This trip would more than likely consist of myself, at the very least one Safety Op, the Model and maybe one other (chaperone, generally company etc etc). Be aware this plan is in its infancy however its really just a matter of wrangling the logistics to get everything in place. If you have read this far and still intrigued then I best tell you all what I will actually need.

Firstly I need to know who might be interested, since there is no point organising something like that unless there are people that would be willing. for those that are interested, you would have to fit the following criteria:

# Have proverbials of steel - Canyoning is awesome fun, but it is challenging and daunting to those who have never attempted such a thing.

# Be willing to travel, long distance possibly - I can't bring the mountain to you, you have to come to the mountain.